Fashion Record

Monday, November 05, 2007

Therese Rawsthorne's Youth World

Therese Rawsthorne worked at Issey Miyake and Ozwald Boateng in London before returning to Australia in 2003 and launching her Youth World label in 2005.

Rawsthorne's style takes inspiration from 'retro' forms (her 'Strapped Up Swing Tank' dress and 'Maxi Lace Up Pants' come to mind) but the pieces are boldly reworked and recut to reflect beautiful and contemporary lines, with attitude.

Youth World's Spring Summer 07-08 collection is named 'Cake Fight', inspired from the signature colours of its pieces.

Youth World is stocked by such Sydney boutiques as Pretty Dog, Blood Orange and more recently The Corner Shop, in Paddington. The label is also well represented in the USA, New Zealand, Japan and the Russian Federation.
Go to thisisyouthworld.com to have a look at Youth World and check out where its available.

Youth World www.thisisyouthworld.com
Pretty Dog www.prettydog.com.au/
The Corner Shop(Strand Arcade) www.strandarcade.com.au
Issey Miyake www.isseymiyake.co.jp/
Ozwald Boateng www.ozwaldboateng.co.uk

Labels: , , , , , ,

Tuesday, October 30, 2007

Kite Magazine


Kite Magazine is a new format 'Contemporary Culture magazine' from Australia. It sets out to showcase the work of artists who 'let their ideas take flight'. In doing so, Kite also seeks to promote greater dialogue between artistic disciplines.

Issue 1 (pictured) includes contributions from: Will Davidson(Fashion Photography), Stina Persson(watercolour and ink artist), Eskimo Joe(Australian band), Amiel(singer) Youth World (fashion by Therese Rawsthorne) and Jasper Knight(artist)

Kite http://www.myspace.com/kitemagazine
Will Davidson http://www.willdavidson.com
Stina Persson http://www.stinapersson.com/
Amiel www.amiel.com.au
Youth World www.thisisyouthworld.com
Jasper Knight www.jasperknight.com

Labels: , , , , ,